Barnard’s Annual Scholarship Dinner and Auction: Shaping the Future

By Lindsay Garten
On Wednesday April 6, Barnard College will host its annual Scholarship Dinner and Auction, Shaping the Future, at New York’s historic Plaza Hotel. The event will honor this year’s recipients of the Frederick A.P. Barnard Award, Ellen V. Futter ’71, President of the American Museum of Natural History and President of Barnard from 1980 to 1993 and Barbara Novak ’50, renowned art historian and Barnard Professor Emerita. Greta Gerwig ’06, an actress whose film Arthur opens this weekend, will be the Mistress of Ceremonies. The event will raise money for Barnard’s financial aid program, which was recently recognized by U.S. News and World Report as one of the nation’s “Most Generous.”   
In a released statement President Debora L. Spar noted, “The evening benefits and celebrates the remarkable young women of Barnard who strive to shape a bolder, better future for themselves and for the world.” She continued, “We are also honoring Ellen Futter and Barbara Novak, two of our most distinguished, extraordinary Barnard women who have left indelible marks on the College and served as dynamic role models for generations of women.”  

“Thanks to the continued support of our donors, Barnard is able to meet the full need for every student who qualifies for financial aid. It is so rewarding to know that we provide opportunities for some of the most interesting and diverse women regardless of their ability to finance a Barnard education,” Nanette M. DiLauro, Barnard’s director of financial aid, said in a released statement.

Last year’s scholarship dinner and auction raised $1.7 million. This year, in a sign of the times, participants will bid on an actual scholarship rather than glamorous prizes. This change brings the focus back to education and the exceptional young women directly aided by the auction.
In addition to those already mentioned, there will be many VIPs at the event. Famous alumnae expected to be in attendance include: Suzanne Vega ’81, singer and song writer, Atoosa Rubenstein ’93, former editor-in-chief of Seventeen magazine, Anna Quindlen ’74, a journalist and columnist for the New York Times, Trustee Emerita Virginia Wright ’51, Roy and Diana Vagelos ’55, the namesake of the Diana Center. Other VIPs in attendance will be: Lloyd Blankfein, CEO of Goldman Sachs, Susan Lyne, CEO of Gilt Groupe, Jerry Peyer CC ’62, founding partner of New York real estate company Tishman Speyer, and New York Federal judge Kimba Wood.
Lindsay is a sophomore at Barnard she is also Co-Editor-in-Chief of The Nine Ways of Knowing.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s